Saturday, 18 December 2010

Ravenwood by Nathan Lowell

Official Blurb

A Tanyth Fairport Adventure.

After twenty winters on the road, Tanyth makes one last pilgrimage in her quest to learn all she can about the herbs and medicinal plants of Korlay before settling down to write her magnum opus. Her journey is interrupted when she stops to help a small village and learns that much of what she knows of the world may not be quite as it seems.

In this work, Nathan Lowell blends wiccan tradition and shamanistic lore into a fantasy quest and creates a world for a new - if unlikely - heroine to explore. She learns that the familiar sometimes hides the fantastical and that, even when you think you’ve made your decisions, life doesn’t always agree.

My Review

This book was written by the same author who wrote "Quarter Share", "Half Share", "Full Share", "Double Share" and "Captains Share", Nathan Lowell.

I can confirm that he has brought the same easy writing style to this book but with a twist. This tale also makes a change for him with regards to genre, rather than Sci fi, this tale is pure fantasy.

The protagonist is an older woman wandering the world leaning herb lore and finds herself in a tiny new village where she is needed, and for a time at least stops her wandering. Unlike the "Share" series that were great despite nothing seeming to happen(!), this book is full of adventure. It's not a classic trek across the world as so many fantasy books do, but rather a challenge to make the vilage succeed against adversity. Problems arise, including enemies that challenge the village and Tanith.

I love the way Mr Lowell builds the tension in this book. You know something bad is coming and it's just over the horizon but Nathan draws this out so that when it arrives it really delivers.

Do not expect a clash of armies or evil super villains, expect a good story with well made characters, and an excellent reader and you wont be disapointed.

Reading 2/3
Production 2/3
Story 2/3

Total Score 6/9

Download it from the Podiobooks

Listen to the first part